Belmont donors

McWhorter Society

In the spring of 2013, Dr. Richard Treadway, a foundational Nashville health care leader, approached Dr. Robert Fisher, president of Belmont University, about an idea to support the education of future health care leaders in our community, city, state, nation and world. This idea grew into the formation of a giving society to support Belmont’s three health care-related academic programs: the Gordon E. Inman College of Health Sciences & Nursing, the College of Pharmacy and the Health Care MBA program. 

Dr. Treadway wanted to name the group for an inspirational leader deemed most appropriate as a namesake. He chose R. Clayton McWhorter. 

McWhorter Society
From Left: Belmont College of Pharmacy Dean Phil Johnston, Clayton and Michelle McWhorter

In an era characterized by accounting scandals and questionable ethics, McWhorter carved a legacy of deep integrity, dynamic leadership and notable success. His leadership in the development of health care industry giants HealthTrust, Inc. and Hospital Corporation of America made him a legend in his field. His ability to garner support for meaningful health care reform is well known and earned him respect from across the political spectrum as well as in his home city, where he earned an iconic and affectionate reputation as the “godfather of Nashville health care.”

While McWhorter’s many achievements were based on sound business principles and deep ethical standards, in the end it was his commitment to making a difference in the lives of others and giving back to the community that sealed his enduring legacy.

In the late 1980s, McWhorter became involved with Belmont University, a relationship that spanned more than two decades. Belmont named its pharmacy building “McWhorter Hall” to pay tribute to his philanthropy and service to the University.

The McWhorter Society was created to provide financial support for health care education at Belmont University. The Society aims to provide scholarships for students, endowed professorships and support for innovative educational efforts.

Through the commitment of the Society’s members, Belmont’s health care-related programs continue to provide the next generation of health care leaders for our community and beyond.


Society Membership

• Membership in The McWhorter Society requires a minimum gift of $1,000 per year for an individual or a corporate sponsorship of the Tennessee Health Care Hall of Fame.

• Provides funding for The McWhorter Scholars as well as special programming for the Gordon E. Inman College of Health Sciences & Nursing, College of Pharmacy and the Jack C. Massey College of Business MBA for Healthcare Professionals.

• Secures an invitation for The Annual McWhorter Society Luncheon.

• Assures a seat at the table for the Tennessee Health Care Hall of Fame Luncheon and Induction Ceremony.

• Secures placement on a VIP list for invitations to society–sponsored special health and health care presentations and networking opportunities with health care leaders.

For more information, call 615.460.6179 or email Willie Young.

Society Scholars

Since the creation of The McWhorter Society in 2013, over 40 students have received scholarship awards.

The scholarship program assists students interested in pursuing health care careers through Belmont’s Gordon E. Inman College of Health Sciences & Nursing, College of Pharmacy and MBA for Healthcare Professionals in the Jack C. Massey College of Business.

Distinguished Service Award

The McWhorter Society Distinguished Service Award was established to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to the health and health care related academic programs at Belmont University. The Gordon E. Inman College of Health Sciences & Nursing, the College of Pharmacy and the Jack C. Massey College of Business celebrate these individuals for their service and dedication.

2013 – Barbara Massey Rogers 
2014 – Charles R. F. Treadway, M.D., MBA 
2015 – Jack O. Bovender, Jr. 
2016 – Clayton McWhorter
2017 – Harry R. Jacobson, M.D.
2018 – Honorable Winfield Dunn